Equestrian Life Logo Red Grey
live TV (up)
photo galleries (up)
video galleries (up)
EQ Life Magazine
12 month subscription
2016 EWA Annual Awards Night

Sharon Jarvis and Ceasy in Rio - Photo Credit Rozzie Ryan

Sharon Jarvis and Ceasy in Rio.

© Rozzie Ryan


More than 200 members of the WA equestrian community gathered at Mulberry on Swan on Friday 3 February to celebrate the sport’s highest achievers of 2016 as part of the Equestrian Western Australia Annual Awards Night. The evening was a great success, with the presentations occurring from 6:30pm-9:30pm (including a dinner break) followed by music, dancing and socialising until midnight.

EWA would like to thank our generous sponsors - Di Candilo Steel City, D'Arcy Slater Foundation, Horseland, Asset Edge Residential and Bates - for their support. Thanks must also be given to the charismatic Shaun Lowery for being MC, and to Horseplay Photography for covering the event. We would also like to congratulate all of the award finalists and winners on their success as a result of the commitment and dedication they have shown to their sport.

For those that were unable to attend the Awards Night, a list of winners for all of the awards can be viewed below.

EWA Award Winners

Administrator of the Year?/Sponsored by Di Candilo Steel City

•    Dressage - Sara Botten
•    Eventing - Wendy Dunstan
•    Jumping - Gillian Fletcher
•    Show Horse - Eileen Morris

Administrator of the Year Winner - Wendy Dunstan

Volunteer of the Year

•    Dressage - Valrie Mayger
•    Eventing - Jan Lawrie
•    Jumping - Rosemary Inglis
•    Show Horse - Sharon Veccia

Volunteer of the Year Winner - Jan Lawrie

Official of the Year

•    Dressage - Janet Reid
•    Eventing - Rebecca Thomas
•    Jumping - Amy Kippin
•    Show Horse - Janet Reid

Official of the Year Winner - Janet Reid

Special Services to the Sport?/Sponsored by D'Arcy Slater Foundation

•    Dressage - Harry Boldt
•    Eventing - Tom Compagnoni
•    Jumping - Judith Odgaard
•    Show Horse - Valrie Mayger

Special Services to the Sport Winner - Harry Boldt

Club of the Year

•    Dressage  - Perth Dressage Club
•    Eventing - Youth Eventing Squad WA
•    Jumping - WA Showjumping Association
•    Show Horse - Riverside Riding Club    

Club of the Year Winner - Perth Dressage Club

High Performance Coach of the Year?/Sponsored by Horseland

•    Dressage - Roz Tippett
•    Eventing - Philippa Collier
•    Jumping - David Dobson

High Performance Coach of the Year Winner - David Dobson

Community Coach of the Year?/Sponsored by Horseland

•    Dressage - Nadine Merewether
•    Eventing - Nadine Merewether
•    Jumping - William Donovan

Community Coach of the Year Winner - Nadine Merewether

Event of the Year

•    Dressage - Southern Solstice Dressage
•    Eventing - Alcoa International Horse Trials
•    Jumping - WASJA Patrons Cup
•    Show Horse - EWA Show Horse of the Year Show
•    Special Nomination - Eventing in the Park

Event of the Year Winners - WASJA Patron's Cup & Eventing in the Park

Owner of the Year

•    Dressage - Kate Barton
•    Eventing - Nikki Harwood
•    Jumping - Rory Hovell
•    Show Horse - Graetz Family

Owner of the Year Winner - Nikki Harwood

International Horse of the Year

•    Dressage - Ceasy
•    Eventing - Parkiarrup Illicit Liaison
•    Jumping - Stanley 151

International Horse of the Year Winner - Parkiarrup Illicit Liaison (owned by Nikki Harwood)

Sanjay Johnson and Parkiarrup Illicit Liaison Team winners - Aachen - Photo credit Roger Fitzhardinge

Sonja Johnson and Parkiarrup Illicit Liaison at Aachen.

© Roger Fitzhardinge

Domestic Horse of the Year?/Sponsored by Asset Edge Residential

•    Dressage - Don Dancier
•    Eventing - Tempus Fugit
•    Jumping - Oaks Redwood
•    Show Horse - Bevanlee Folklore

Domestic Horse of the Year Winner - Don Dancier

International Athlete of the Year

•    Dressage - Sharon Jarvis
•    Eventing - Sonja Johnson
•    Jumping - Evie Buller

International Athlete of the Year Winner - Sonja Johnson

Para Equestrian of the Year

Para Equestrian of the Year Winner - Sharon Jarvis

Young Athlete of the Year

•    Dressage - Kjersti Grov
•    Eventing - Shenae Lowings
•    Jumping - Angus Donovan
•    Show Horse - Jenna Hall       

Young Athlete of the Year Winner - Shenae Lowings

Domestic Athlete of the Year?/Sponsored by Bates

•    Dressage - Deon Stokes
•    Eventing - Tegan Lush
•    Jumping - Maddison Stephen
•    Show Horse - Chris Lambert

Domestic Athlete of the Year Winner - Tegan Lush

Full results from the awards evening can be found here.

Source: Equestrian Western Australia




M ad out now issue 34


Back to top. Printable View.