EQ Life Masthead - 2019
live TV (up)
EQ Life virtual competition
CMH.TV advert (V2)
EQ Life Magazine
12 month subscription
McVean Sends Warning from North Island Champs

Katie McVean has sent a clear warning to her opposition as the showjumping season heads to the business end, with decisive victories at the Aon Showjumping Waitemata North Island Championships at Woodhill Sands in Auckland on Sunday.

The Mystery Creek rider took three of the top six placings in the North Island Bayer Super League Championship – winning aboard Dunstan Daffodil, placing second in Dunstan Kiwi Iron Mark (owned by June Berrington) and fourth on Dunstan Zimorena G. Aussie raider Jamie Kermond was third on Yandoo Laughton’s Legend and fifth on his star grey Colthaga, with Mathew Gilmour (Matangi) and Belieze Di Cantero filling the sixth slot.

Twenty-two started the class, with those carrying four faults or less coming back for the second, McVean was double clear with both Daffodil and Iron mark in 50.55 seconds and 52.11 respectively. She clocked the fasted time of the round with Zimorena, stopping the clock at 48.77 but paid with her speed with a rail. Kermond also chased hard and his 50.03 round aboard Colthaga also notched four faults.

There are a troop of Australians in the country chasing the Long White Cloud Tour, which ends at the New Zealand Horse of the Year Show in Hastings next month.

Little pocket rocket Briar Burnett-Grant (Taupo) triumphed in the North Island Pony Grand Prix Championship on Kabo Silver, heading home 21 other combinations. No-one managed to go clear in the second, but Burnett-Grant’s 43.48 seconds was way faster than her nearest rival, Melanie Weal (Te Awamutu) on Hopeful Illusion who also had four faults in 51.88.

Sunday’s jumping marked the end of three fantastic days of competition, involving a record 477 showjumpers and 150 show hunters. Gerrit Beker (Tauranga) designed challenging but fair courses in the premier ring, on beautifully prepared turf by Woodhill Sands’ owners Shelley and Chris Ross.


Results -


North Island Bayer Super League Championship: Katie McVean (Mystery Creek) Dunstan Daffodil 1, Katie McVean (Mystery Creek) Dunstan Kiwi Iron Mark (owned by June Berrington) 2, Jamie Kermond (Australia) Yandoo Laughton’s Legend 3, Katie McVean (Mystery Creek) Dunstan Zimorena G 4, Jamie Kermond (Australia) Colthaga 5, Mathew Gilmour (Matangi) Belieze Di Cantero 6.

North Island Pony Grand Prix Championship: Briar Burnett-Grant (Taupo) Kabo Silver 1, Melanie Weal (Te Awamutu) Hopeful Illusion 2, Jay Phillips (Cambridge) Guess Once More 3, Megan O’Grady (Tauranga) Galaxy Knight Out 4, Briar Burnett-Grant (Taupo) Millbrook 5, Nakeysha Lammers (Northland) Airborne Magic 6.

North Island Young Rider Championship: James Arkins (Australia) Dreamtime Invader 1, Jake Lambert (Cambridge) Eros K 2, James Cole (Auckland) Chequebook 3, Natasha Brooks (Cambridge) Hairy McLairy 4, Natasha Brooks (Cambridge) Kapattack 5, Hannah Burnett-Grant (Taupo) Carlotta 6.

North Island STH Pro Amateur Rider: Jackie Jermyn (Waikato) Circus 1, Nicola Peat (Auckland) Barzuga 2, Jacqui Wright (Auckland) Kaipara Annie 3, Pearl Delaney-Girdlestone (Wellington) Windale Gracious 4, David Goodin (Te Kauwhata) Rastas Rebel 5, Kirsten Kelly (Auckland) Tiraumea Donegal 6.

North Island Fernhill Stud Five Year Old Championship: Abby Robinson (Ohaupo) Kahurangi Final Edition 1, Vicki Wilson (Hikurangi) Lanstar Xtreme (owned Sharleen Workman) 2, Antonie Oglivie (Auckland) Ripple Effect 3, Samantha McIntosh (Cambridge) NZ Franks Road 4, Travis Morgan (Tauranga) Esteban MVNZ 5, Jake Lambert (Cambridge) Casablanca SL 6.

North Island KiwiSpan Junior Rider Championship: Rebekah van Tiel (Auckland) Leeston Eagle 1, Melanie Weal (Te Awamutu) Cross Your Heart 2, Lucy Allen (Cambridge) Witheze 3, Lily Tootill (Karaka) Ngahiwi Cruise 4, Laura Lush (Auckland) Macavee 5, Samantha Morrinson (Australia) Bellwood Casanova 6.

North Island Seven Year Old Championship: Katie McVean (Mystery Creek) Dunstan Breeze 1, Samantha McIntosh (Cambridge) Supernova NZPH 2, Vicki Wilson (Hikurangi) Showtym Levado GNZ 3, Jake Lambert (Cambridge) Eros K 4, Rachel McGregor (Cambridge) NZ Fireball 5, Katie McVean (Mystery Creek) Dunstan Banderas C 6.

North Island Mitavite Six Year Old Championship: Jamie Kermond (Australia) Dunstan Carlo 1, Joy McNeil (Whangarei) Bella Vi I 2, Samantha McIntosh (Cambridge) NZ Pow 3, Michelle Wakeling (Waitemata) BMW Littorroan 4, Bridget Hansen (Ocean Beach) True Blue NZPH 5, James Cole (Auckland) Blue Lagoon 6.

North Island One Star Grand Prix Championship: Katie McVean (Mystery Creek) Dunstan Zimorena G 1, James Arkins (Australia) Dreamtime Invader 2, Glen Beal (Auckland) Solano 3, Katie McVean (Mystery Creek) Dunstan Kiwi Iron Mark (owned by June Berrington) 4, Lucy Olphert (Tauranga) Monty Python 5, Gary Worth (Tauranga) Ricarlos 6.

North Island Caledonian Amateur Rider Championship: Sasha Harwood (Papamoa) Beautiful Day 1, Melanie Dudding (Auckland) A Touch Of Country 2, Michelle Wakeling (Auckland) BMW Littorroan 3, Rowan Dixon (Auckland) Major Vibes 4, Emma Blair (Auckland) Ditto 5, Jane Donachie (Auckland) Galaxy Johnny Jackson 6.

Back to top. Printable View.