Uncategorised

Australia placed second in Nations Cup Driving at CHIO Aachen

Equestrian Life

Published 7 May 2024

The Australian team has begun strongly in the CAIO4* Nations Cup Driving (Boehringer Ingelheim Nations’ Cup) at CHIO Aachen, placing second following the dressage phase (Prize of Martello Immobilienmanagement GmbH & Co. KG).

Both team members – Boyd Exell and Tor van den Berge – are in the top ten.

Boyd placed second with Celviro, Checkmate, Hero and Ivor on 38.79 (just beaten by America’s Chester Webber on 35.59), while Tor van den Berge is in 9th place on 55.84 with horses Carbery Estate Chino, Indiana, Jeebert and Kerosine.

The Australian team are on a total of 94.63, just behind Germany on 91.1.

Competition continues Saturday with the Marathon (Prize of schwartz Group – times at the end of this article), with Tor and Boyd 20th and 21st respectively in the running order.

The driving action also continues Friday with the Prize of Fa. Horsch, Der Entsorger “Top Score”, and although this class doesn’t form part of the Nations Cup event, Boyd and Tor will be in action (start times at the end of this article). This event is a Cones/Obstacles competition, similar to ‘Top Score’ events in show jumping where different elements are awarded points based on difficulty. Drivers may pick their own course with the aim of accumulating the highest points tally within a time limit.

It’s a thrilling event and not to be missed! The class begins at 10am CEST.

Simone Pearce retires from CDIO5* Grand Prix

In the dressage arena, it unfortunately wasn’t Simone Pearce’s day and the Australian had to retire young mare All We Need from the CDIO5* Grand Prix. The last to go in a packed stadium for the biggest dressage class of the day, the atmosphere proved a little too much and Simone made the call to retire early in the test; they were able to leave the arena on a loose rein and positive note. All We Need is only new to the top level and no doubt has a huge future head of her. We can’t wait to see how Simone and this exciting mare progress!

We of course also can’t wait to see Simone and stallion Destano representing Australia at the Paris Olympics later this month!

Results and draws from CHIO Aachen can be found here.

Watch all the action via ClipMyHorse.TV. 

Aussies in action Friday, 5 July at CHIO Aachen:

EVENTING:

SAP Cup (Nations Cup Eventing) dressage:

Andrew Hoy and Cadet de Beliard: 9.05am CEST, 5.05pm AEST

Kevin McNab and Miss Pepperpot: 10.37am CEST, 6.37pm AEST

Andrew Barnett and Go Tosca: 12.37pm CEST, 8.37pm AEST

Chris Burton and Clever Louis: 2.09pm CEST, 10.09pm AEST

SAP Cup (Nations Cup Eventing) jumping: From 5.45pm CEST, 1.45am Saturday AESt

DRIVING:

Prize of Fa. Horsch, Der Entsorger “Top Score”:

Boyd Exell and Tor van den Berge: From 10am CEST, 6pm AEST

JUMPING:

CSIO5* RWE Prize of North Rhine-Westphalia:

Hilary Scott and Oaks Milky Way: From 1.05pm CEST, 9.05pm AEST

DRESSAGE:

CDI-Y Individual test (Prize of Liselott and Klaus Rheinberger Foundation):

Kate Kyros and Intro K: 4.30pm CEST, 12.30am Saturday AEST