Uncategorised

Paris Olympic team riders in action at Aachen

Equestrian Life

Published 7 Apr 2024

Dressage began in the Deutsche Bank Stadium at CHIO Aachen on Wednesday, with Simone Pearce flying the Australian flag in the CDI1* Prix St Georges (Prize of VUV – Vereinigte Unternehmerverbände Aachen).

Simone – who this morning was named on her second Australian Olympic dressage team stallion with Destano – rode 10-year-old Hanoverian gelding Fine Art von Bellin in the PSG to score 68.794% for sixth place in a strong field.

The class had an all-German podium, led by Frederic Wandres and Quizmaster FRH on 73.97%.

It is only the second international-level competition for Fine Art von Bellin, and the first time he’s been in an area with the sort of atmosphere offered by the Deutsche Bank Stadium at Aachen. Simone said he was a little hot but will be much better prepared for the electric atmosphere come the CDI1* Inter I on Saturday – so watch this space (draw TBC)! The pair scored 72.108% for their last CDI1* Inter I test at Haras de Jardy, a score that could certainly see them challenge for the podium here at Aachen.

On Thursday, Simone is due to ride the mare All We Need in the CDIO5* Grand Prix where she will be the last into the arena (start times below). All We Need was listed as a Nominated Entry (short-listed) for the Paris Olympics.

View the results from the CDI1* PSG here.

In the main stadium, fellow Olympic team member Hilary Scott finished 23rd in the Turkish Airlines Prize of Europe (1.60m) with Oaks Milky Way; just one unlucky rail prevented a start in the jump-off.

The combination, who represented Australia at the 2022 FEI World Championships, were today named on the jumping team for the Paris Olympics.

Aussies in action on Thursday, 4 July:

CDIO5* Grand Prix (Prize of Family Tesch):

Simone Pearce and All We Need: 3.38pm CEST, 11.38pm AEST

CAIO4* Dressage Test for four-in-hand drivers (Prize of Martello Immobilienmanagement GmbH & Co. KG):

Tor van den Berge: 1.38pm CEST, 9.38pm AEST

Boyd Exell: 3.44pm CEST, 11.44pm AEST

Earlier at CHIO Aachen, the vaulting events took place and Australian Ginger Kennett finished 15th in the Prize of Sparkasse.